Why did Kindle boost my reading?

I used to read a fair number of books all through my life, but that started declining sometime in the last ten or so years. Then I got a Kindle, and that seemed to kick start my reading again. It seems I’m far from alone in either the decline or the Kindle effect.

I’ve been pondering why getting a Kindle might have made such a difference. A couple of theories I’ve heard don’t fit the bill for me personally.

  • The theory put forward by Alan Jacobs that he’s got used to doing things with his thumbs on mobile devices and the Kindle gives him that same thumb-twiddling fix didn’t seem particularly convincing to me. It’s not like I felt an impatience to fiddle with my fingers when I did read a paper book or magazine.

  • Many people attribute their drop in reading to a craving for incessantly checking email, social media etc, and say that the great benefit of Kindle is that you can’t do anything else with it but read. I can see how that could apply to other people, but it doesn’t apply to me very much. I’ve long since had habits of organizing myself to not be continually interrupted. For example my email isn’t set to ding me, I just go check it at certain times of day. And my mobile devices don’t even have Twitter on them. I do now read a lot on an iPad Mini as well as a Kindle, and I don’t find all the apps I have on the iPad to be particularly a distraction from reading.

Nevertheless, my book reading had dropped sharply over the years, and was revived again when I got a Kindle. So why?

Here are my speculations…

  • The new toy effect. It’s a natural thing that when you get a new “toy” you want to play with it to the fullest, put it through its paces, explore what you can do with it. When you get a new Kindle, that means grabbing a lot of diverse reading materials, and reading some of them. If you’d fallen out of the habit of regular reading, getting a Kindle is likely to get you back into the rhythm of it.

  • The snowball effect. We all know that some new toys are played with for a few days and then forgotten, while others become perennial favorites. Kindle gave a kickstart to my reading, and through that I rediscovered how rewarding and enjoyable reading was, so I kept on reading. And that continued reading was not all that dependent on the Kindle itself, because as mentioned I read a lot on iPad now as well.

  • Super-convenience. Hit the power on button, you are right in your book, where you left off. No need to dig out reading glasses, the print is a comfortable size. Everything in sync on multiple devices, so I can use whatever is to hand or in my pocket, Kindle, iPad or Android phone. (Note – this is obviously not specific to Kindle devices themselves, though you only get the syncing with Kindle apps not any other readers I’ve found.) The light weight and small size is also important, making it easier to carry around than even a paperback.

  • The next book effect. Because it’s so quick and easy to get the next volume in the book series, get other books by the author you just enjoyed, or more books on the topic that’s got you intrigued, there is less chance of the out of sight, out of mind phenomenon. Being able to take action when something is on my mind leads to follow through and a steady chain of reading. If I had to remember and wait til I went to a bookshop, or even to order online and wait for delivery, that wouldn’t happen.

  • Talking of which…. whatever happened to bookshops? For one reason and another, wandering into bookshops is a much less frequent part of my life than it used to be.

  • The sunk cost effect. Having spent a chunk of money on a device, we feel like we should get our money’s worth from it. Perhaps we also feel like we need to justify the purchase to ourselves, or others. So we read, rather than whatever else we might have done instead.

  • Commitment and identity. Buying a dedicated reading device is in part making a commitment to reading, and declaring yourself to be a reader. Perhaps it is not that a Kindle magically makes reading easier again, but rather it’s that you’ve reached a point where you have decided you mean business about getting reading again, and buying a Kindle is symbolic of that.

Some of what I’ve said above would apply to all forms of e-reading, whether on tablet or dedicated e-readers. Some would apply to all e-ink readers, but not general purpose mobile devices. And one or two points only to the Kindle and its ecosystem.

So maybe there is no one overriding reason why Kindle or e-readers in general help resuscitate comatose reading habits. But one way and another, they did for me, and I’m glad of it.

3 thoughts on “Why did Kindle boost my reading?

  1. I think there’s also the social aspect in the sense that it is both easier to find books I want to read since I am using high-powered search engines, as well as to add books others think I will like to a Wishlist. Sure, that can be done with regular brick-and-mortal book buying, but doing it all in one swoop makes it a much more common occurrence for me. Since I no longer go to a book store to find new books to purchase, I’ve had much better luck finding only the books I actually enjoy and finish.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t really use Wishlists as such, and I’m not sure what you mean by using a high-powered search here. (Google? Amazon? What’s the process that you go through?)

      There is a small social aspect for me I guess in that sometimes someone reviews a book on Goodreads or their blog, and it sounds promising. The fact that I can go skim a sample on Amazon or download a sample chapter to Kindle does help. Often sample chapters on Kindle are a better guide than browsing books in a physical store, because that has to be much briefer. The times when they’re not is when the sample doesn’t get much beyond a Preface or some such, which does happen!

      I’m not sure I’m doing any better in my ratio of acquired-to-read though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My reading started to decline too, although I continued to read some textbooks. I found that I had too many other responsibilities to keep up with it. I also love story telling in all forms (games, books, films) and I will go through phases where I’m dedicating time to one medium more than another due to limited time. I started to read more after meeting my boyfriend who was the first person I’d met in a long time to appreciate books. He recommended a load of titles and encouraged me to get back into it although I still struggled to find the time. Recently though I’ve decided that I want to fit more books into my life and have been making the time for it. I think the convenience of the Kindle makes this easier as I can easily carry it around with me and quickly turn it on in the right place. I’ve found that I can find the time between doing other activities or I’ll read a bit before bed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

