Liebster Q&A

By now I imagine everyone that reads blogs has come across the “Liebster Award”. How exactly it originated I’m not sure, but it is a meme in which you nominate blogs that you particularly like, and suggest some questions for those bloggers to answer. They in turn nominate blogs they like, and so it goes on.

It turns out I was nominated for this some time ago by wallcat. It took me a while to notice, and even longer to write a post. But at least I don’t have to feel left out… and it is a pretty fun and interesting meme!

Wallcat’s Questions

Where is your favourite place to hang out?

I don’t have a single place, but coffee shops are good. I prefer by the window or outdoor seating, so I can get the daylight and watch life going past.

What do you like to do to unwind?

Games, books, TV or radio could feature, together with drinks and snacks.

Also walking and tennis, but those aren’t always ready-to-hand options when I’m in need of unwinding.

Would you consider yourself to be an outdoors or an indoors person?

I think I prefer outdoors, but a lot of the stuff I like to do or need to do requires being indoors!

If you could have one super-power what would it be?

Time travel, if that’s allowed as a super-power.

If you were a sorcerer what element would you specialize in – fire, earth, air or water?

Air.

All the elements would be cool, but I like flying, the sky, and airy stuff generally.

What is your proudest achievement?

I helped someone turn their life around from a very bad place.

Who are your role models?

I don’t know if “role model” is really the right term, but I’ll say Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela and Richard Feynman. I know a fair bit about their lives and they’ve been an influence on me one way and another.

What is your favourite book, game or film?

Book – The Lord of the Rings.

What is your favourite colour?

Blue or Purple. I find you can easily have too much purple though, so maybe blue.

If a genie granted you three wishes, what would they be?

I assume it’s a genie that is clever enough to rule out meta-wishes (wishing for more wishes etc) and not one of the devious and untrustworthy ones that will twist your request into something that technically fits but is actually horrible… in that case…

  • Excellent health until age 90
  • A fully functioning TARDIS (and the knowhow to operate it!)
  • The ability to master the material in any book by skimming it for five minutes

I’m sort of asking to be the Doctor aren’t I? Except sticking to being basically human!

I did contemplate asking for a large amount of money, but I figure with a TARDIS you’ve got a home and transport taken care of, plus you can always go win the lottery if you really needed to get actual cash.

If you could sum yourself up in just a few words, what would they be?

Intermittently awesome, frequently dysfunctional, mostly quite nice.

Nominees and Questions

Now the tricky part… since I’m very late with this meme, I think pretty much everyone that I might have nominated has already been nominated by someone else, and already posted their response as well. If wallcat hadn’t nominated me, I’d surely have nominated her!

Well rather than try to find out who has already done this meme, I will sidestep the issue in two ways…

  • I will list some of my favorite blogs
  • I will ask some questions that anyone who feels so inclined can answer, either in a blog post of their own, via a comments here, or via Twitter.

11 Blogs I Like

In no particular order, a non-exhaustive list of blogs that I like, and bloggers who I’d enjoy seeing answering my questions, if they feel the urge…

11 Questions

Feel free to answer as many or as few as you like, and via whatever medium you prefer… your own blog, comments here, Twitter or other internety means. Though if there’s some way I can find out that you have answered them, that would definitely be good.

Remember anyone who wants can answer!

  1. Do you watch or play any sports? Which?
  2. Are you a morning person, night owl or neither?
  3. Strangest phobia you have personally come across?
  4. What little known book, show or film do you love?
  5. What historical era would you live in, if not the present? Why?
  6. What advice would you give your younger self?
  7. What’s something you’ve always wanted to do, but not done yet?
  8. How would you do in the event of a Zombie Apocalypse?
  9. What’s your ideal place to work?
  10. What fictional character has influenced you the most?
  11. What’s the best thing about your life right now?
9 thoughts on “Liebster Q&A

  1. -Do you watch or play any sports? Which?
    I watch/follow baseball a bit. I’d love to play city league softball or something similar, but I haven’t been able to (yet).

    -Are you a morning person, night owl or neither?
    I am a night owl, but I am rarely grumpy from lack of sleep. It’s a nice trait because I can appear to be a morning lark if necessary!

    -Strangest phobia you have personally come across?
    Not a phobia, but people who don’t like cheese are weird.

    -What little known book, show or film do you love?
    The Stars My Destination and The Demolished Man by Alfred Bester are two of my favorite sci-fi books. I credit them both with my love for the genre!

    -What historical era would you live in, if not the present? Why?
    Revolutionary France so I can swing from chandeliers and wear a big hat with a feather (also fencing).

    -What advice would you give your younger self?
    Suck it up, get a job, and learn to be a social creature before you go to college.

    -What’s something you’ve always wanted to do, but not done yet?
    Visit a different country. Preferably something weird.

    -How would you do in the event of a Zombie Apocalypse?
    Despite my anti-gun stance and general peacefulness, I am a pretty good shot. I think I’d live a few days.

    -What’s your ideal place to work?
    Somewhere fueled by passion, invigorated by love, and challenged to keep those two plates spinning every day.

    -What fictional character has influenced you the most?
    Milton’s Satan

    -What’s the best thing about your life right now?
    My lady Diane is pretty snazzy!

    Like

  2. Well the Leibster is still going around…I will answer your if you do mine…LOL…in the form of a quizical (no-one has done it yet…sobs!)
    https://tsuhelm.wordpress.com/2015/03/10/leibster-lippy-libby-liberal-leaning-liberated-lotroers-licked-libation/
    1) I watch Rugby and I swim (when I was a teen I was very good at Badminton.)
    2) I get up so early I am a night owl!
    3) Cibophobia a family friend suffers from a fear of food – specifically sausages!
    4) Salute of The Jugger (1989) Film.
    5) 1920-30’s pre depression of course.
    6) “Stick it out at University you F***** IDIOT!” (Exact words I would use!)
    7) I want to fly solo (like superman)…I don’t think I ever will…
    8) I would probably end up feeding the masses.
    9) Would love a think tank job.
    10) Don Quixote or The Stainless Steel Rat
    11) WIfe and my 2 sons. No matter how hard life is they make it worthwhile 🙂

    Like

  3. I know what you mean, I struggle to nominate blogs too as many have already received the award.

    Do you watch or play any sports? Which?
    I use to play a lot of badminton. i like archery too. I tend to only watch sport when there is a major event on like the Olympics. I enjoy the running and cycling.

    Are you a morning person, night owl or neither?
    Morning mostly.

    Strangest phobia you have personally come across?
    Nothing really strange. My friend has a fear of wasps or anything that makes a buzzing noise (he can’t even deal with virtual wasps in games.) I also know someone that’s afraid of being sick. Then there’s my own fear of fainting. I also agree with C. T. Murphy’s comment – how can you not like cheese? Lol.

    What little known book, show or film do you love?
    Benny and Joon.

    What historical era would you live in, if not the present? Why?
    I think living conditions are better than they use to be and I’d much rather move forward in time than back. If I had to choose then Victorian times maybe. I love how smartly people dressed back then.

    What advice would you give your younger self?
    Not everything everybody tells you is right. It’s ok to stand your ground sometimes and don’t be afraid to just be yourself.

    What’s something you’ve always wanted to do, but not done yet?
    Go to a music festival and cosplay.

    How would you do in the event of a Zombie Apocalypse?
    I’d either pick a hiding spot and never leave or get bitten on the first day.

    What’s your ideal place to work?
    Somewhere with an energetic passionate atmosphere and friendly supportive co-workers. It has to feel fulfilling.

    What fictional character has influenced you the most?
    There are so many it is difficult to say. Allegra Geller from Existenz use to stick with me as I loved having that female game designer role model (I use to watch a lot of films like that.) I also like Revan from Star Wars.

    What’s the best thing about your life right now?
    My partner who is also my best friend.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Creative Blogger Award | Thinking Play

Leave a Reply

